Solo & Duo

General list of solo works

  1. Paganini and Schubert – two pilgrim souls from different angles
    PDF with more program details
    YouTube-Video Paganini Caprice with Duo Luminoso
  2. Paganinis influence through the centuries – works by Paganini and about Paganini
  3. Tango on 10 strings – challenge of passion from all around the world
  1. „The contrasting faces of Mozart and Beethoven“
    PDF with more program details
  2. General list of sonatas
  3. General list of miniatures
Hidden Chorals – spotlight on solo works for violin by J.S. Bach


With Orchestra

Music by E. Ysaye and story by S. Kalniete

Music by Eugene Ysaye (1858-1931) & Excerpts from Book “With Dance Shoes in Siberian Snows” by Sandra Kalniete (1952*)

Harmonie du Soir Op.31 for string quartet and string orchestra

Chant d’Hiver Op.15 for violin and orchestra

Poeme Extase Op.21 for violin and orchestra

Berceuse Op.20 for violin and orchestra

Reve d’enfant Op.14 for violin and orchestra

Poeme de l’Exil Op.25 for four violins and 2 violas

Poeme Amitie Op.26 for two violins and orchestra

Neige d’Antan Op.23 for violin and orchestra

During World War II, Janis Kalnins was forced to leave Latvia and flee to Canada through Germany. It was on this dramatic journey that his violin concerto was born.
In 2014 it finally returned to Latvia.

Janis Kalnins, son of Alfreds Kalnins (composer of the first Latvian national opera „Banuta“/1919), was a conductor and composer of Latvian origin. He was a student of Jazeps Vitols (composition) in Riga and of Hermann Abendroth and Leo Blech (conducting) in Berlin as well as Erich Kleiber in Salzburg.

The violin concerto was written in Germany in 1945.
The 1st movement is dated „Sierksdorf bei Haffkrug. 1945 g.“
The 2nd movement is dated „Burg Fehmarn April 1945 g.“

The world premiere of this violin concerto was performed in Germany in 1948 by violinist Janis Kalejs, composer and conductor Janis Kalnins and the Philharmonic Orchestra of Lübeck. The 2nd performance was in Canada in 1962. Afterwards the score disappeared for around 50 years.

But fortunately, it could be found and reconstructed. In 2014 young Latvian violinist Laura Zarina performed this concerto in Latvia for the first time ever.

Laura Zarina sees herself as an ambassador for this piece: a violin concerto influenced by European culture and filled with Latvian passion.